Thank you to everyone who participated in T2019. You made this a great conference for all!!

The Organizing Committee for the 22nd International Council on Alcohol, Drugs and Traffic Safety Conference is pleased to introduce the T2019 Scientific Committee. 

This Scientific Committee will play an integral role in the development of the scientific program for T2019.  The members of this committee will serve as reviewers for abstract submissions and working papers and will offer guidance on conference themes and program structure. 

“We are honoured that they have accepted our invitation to participate and we are grateful for their willingness to share their expertise in building a scientific program that will feature leading and best practices and attract delegates from around the globe.”  Gerry Shimko, T2019 Organizing Committee Co-chair


The following is a list of the current members of the T2019 Scientific Committee.              

ChairLaura Thue, Senior Research Coordinator, City of Edmonton, Traffic Safety Section

Vice-Chair: Ward Vanlaar, Chief Operating Officer, Traffic Injury Research Foundation (TIRF)

Vice-Chair: Evelyn Vingilis, Professor, Departments of Family Medicine and Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Western University

Kathryn Stewart: Director for the Dissemination and Diffusion of Science-Based Prevention, Prevention Research Center, Oakland, California, USA

Barry Watson: Professor, Centre for Accident Research and Road Safety – Queensland (CARRS-Q), School of Psychology & Counselling, Queensland University of Technology (QUT)

Jim Fell: Principal Research Scientist, Economics, Justice & Society, National Opinion Research Center (NORC) at the University of Chicago

Flavio Pechansky: Professor and Director of the Center for Drug and Alcohol Research, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil

Brad Holland: Director of Programs and Research, Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators (CCMTA)

Jeff Brubacher: Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, University of British Columbia

Corporal Brian Sampson: Provincial Impaired Driving Coordinator, British Columbia, Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)

Scott MacDonald: Scientist, Centre for Addictions Research of British Columbia

Wendy Doyle: Executive Director, Office of Traffic Safety, Alberta Transportation, Government of Alberta

Kathy Belton: Associate Director, Injury Prevention Centre, School of Public Health, University of Alberta

Kwei Quaye: Assistant Vice President, Traffic Safety Services, Saskatchewan Government Insurance

Amy Porath: Director of Research and Policy, Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction (CCSA)

Doug Bierness: Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction (CCSA), Independent Contractor

Thomas G. Brown: Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, McGill University

Louise Nadeau: Professeure Emeritus, Département de Psychologie, Université de Montréal

Marie Claude Ouimet: Professeure agrégée, Faculté de médicine et des sciences de la santé, Université de Sherbrooke

Mark Asbridge: Associate Professor, Department of Community Health and Epidemiology, Dalhousie University

Bruna Brands: Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Program Director, Collaborative Program in Addiction Studies, University of Toronto